opinions and assistance please

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

dragonme

Apr 12, 2016
I have a fairly old esxi home lab based on intel s5520HC and 2x L5640s

the setup serves my purposes and upgrading the hardware is not in the cards at the moment..

I am on 6.0xx still as initial testing when 6.5 came out that power optimization was not as good and my 24x7 server that mostly sees light load was using more wall power at idle.. I dont know if its improved or not with 6.7 or latest updates.. 7.0 is a non starter based on hardware compat issues

I have this server in AIO configuration with Napp-it home use and omnios-r151022-f9693432c2

one issue is that a pool that I had been using for many years, had moved into this setup as a 2 device pool, and using RDM.. that I later added a device to, also using RDM... it was working fine and reported that it was using the whole disk..

strangely when I changed the configuration from RDM to passing the whole SATA controller to Napp-it.. the 3rd drive that was added shows it using a partition and not the whole disk like the other 2.. very strange.. and pool performance is taking a hit..

this pool is 3 x 8TB and it at 70%ish filled... I have a backup using send/receive on a per dataset level to a shelf that has 3 x 5 wide raidz1 devs

FIRST QUESTION (finally right)
to correct the pool, I am deciding between the option of doing a replace operation using a new 8TB drive and let is silver or to destroy the pool create and restore it from scratch...

the drawback to the first is that resilver takes a long time and is rather thrashy

the drawback to destroy rebuild is that I would be down to just one copy of roughly 18TB of info... albeit with redundancy but more than a single drive failure in either of the 3 raidz luns would result in loss...