New to servers need a bit of guidance

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

mrlonely

May 21, 2023
Lets say you have a video hosting web application (Django), and want to host your own videos with a fixed bitrate of 650000 and 720p, and you have like 500 users watching, want kinda serve would i need to buy, im a bit new to servers and stuff like that, im a web developer, if you could point me in the right direction that would be great, thanks, and hi btw :)

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
Hi,

the regular approach would be to run a test scenario with one/a few users to identify cpu/memory/disk io/space requirements and then scale up.
O/c there are some optimizations you can implement (gpus to offload en/decoding etc), so its not totally straight forward...

Reactions: mrlonely

mrlonely

May 21, 2023
Hi,

the regular approach would be to run a test scenario with one/a few users to identify cpu/memory/disk io/space requirements and then scale up.
O/c there are some optimizations you can implement (gpus to offload en/decoding etc), so its not totally straight forward...
BUT it is possible? I know how to build PCs but i dont really now how to build a server, I was thinking maybe a Xeon E-2224, 16Gb ram, but i dont know what to use HHDs or SSDs? the videos will average between 100mb - 400mb. I dont want the videos buffering or have trouble loading, i couldn't find anything solid online, and thanks for answering

zac1

Oct 1, 2022
You might try profiling your use case. A relatively inexpensive way to do this might be hourly server rentals.

Rand__

Mar 6, 2014
Everything is possible, but might not be feasible.

So lets start reverse -

Starting with Disk IO
going by 720p, H.264 encoded, the internet says 3Mbps = 3000kbit= 375kbyte = 0,375MB/s .

0,375x500 = 187,5 MB/s