New server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Boehamian

Nov 10, 2023
OK. So bought a budget system for a server with specs below to get me into building my first home server.
64gb ram ddr4
Msi z790 board
13500 I series cpu
Name drive, case. Etc etc.

Then a mate put me onto a lot of second hand amd epyc stuff on ebay. Then I had a thought. Seeing as I have just bought a new case etc and the computer i just bought is far better then my gaming rig could I kill 2 problems with 1 stone and get a upgrade on my current computer (use the 1080 I have in my current machine) and get a server at the same time.

So my thought was, buy the supermicro motherboard, epyc cpu and ram attached to this post, use the new case and power supply for the server and put the motherboard ram and Intel cpu etc into my gaming rig. Thus not wasting any parts.

As I'm an apprentice I can't really afford a big expensive gaming rig and my current one is an Intel i7 950 1st gen and just can't keep up with the latest games.

Has anyone used these epyc 7551p cpu and are they any good? What's the power consumption and what do I need to tame such a cpu cooling wise?
I have checked it will fit in the current case. Not too familiar with the server CPUs.

Attachments

sic0048

Dec 24, 2018
What exactly do you expect to do with your server?