New home server hurdles

Discussion in 'DIY Server and Workstation Builds' started by Dorgin, Mar 26, 2020 at 10:58 PM.

1. Dorgin

Dorgin New Member

Apologies for any naivety on my part, I'm new to the server side of building.

Case: Supermicro CS846E16-R1200B with BPN-SAS2-846EL1 backplane

MB: Supermicro H11SSL-i rev 1

CPU: AMD EPYC 7351P

Memory: Supermicro 64GB SDRAM ECC Registered DDR4 2666

HBA: LSI Broadcom SAS 9300-8i

Questions 1: The Front Control Panel header JF1 appears to take a 20? pin connector with pins 3 & 4 absent (P.38 https://www.supermicro.com/manuals/motherboard/EPYC7000/MNL-2085.pdf) but the case (https://www.supermicro.com/manuals/chassis/4U/SC846.pdf) only has a 16 pin connector cable. So I have no LEDS or control from the front panel. Am I SOL, is there different cable that I can't find, or another solution I'm unaware of?

Question 2: Despite the above issue, I can get into the IPMI to boot and power down the server, but I can't get the KVM to launch with SuperMicro's IPMIView 2.16.0. The error message I get is "Administrator privilege is required to launch KVM during first initialization or Connection Failed". I'm logged in as the Admin and plugged into the IPMI LAN port. Not sure what other info I need to give, but help?

Question 3: Unraid boots but it won't recognize any of the drives I've got loaded (x2 WD Red 10Tb, x4 WD elements schucked 10TB, x1 Kingston 120Gb SSD). The SSD is the only drive that displays the solid blue "SAS/SATA/NVME drive installed" on the drive bay, and does so in all 24 slots so I know there's power. My understanding with this backplane is you run all 24 drives through a single HBA, and I'm under 8-ports anyway.

Thank you in advance everyone!

2. Spartacus

Spartacus Active Member

3. Dorgin

Dorgin New Member

1. Thanks for the cable links, I ordered the CBL-0048. We'll give that a shot but I'm guessing it will work nicely!