Need help with Dell SC8000 sas card + HGST4u60

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

denywinarto

Aug 11, 2016
Ok i recently bought HGST 4u60 which needs 8644 cables.. so i bought Dell SC8000..
After some googling it's apparently LSI 9208 16e rebranded..

Problem is, i have no experience in flashing or dealing with SAS card..
I've updated the card to the latest firmware using the files here
SAS 9206-16e Host Bus Adapter

Do i need to flash it to IT mode or something? here's my specs

Motherboard : Gybagite GA B150m ds3h
Processor : Intel i3 skylake
Ram : 8Gb ddr4 corsair
SSD : Kingston 120gb + windows server 2012 R2 datacenter
SAS card : DELL SC8000 or A.K.A lsi 9206-16e

I put in 8tb and 6 tb hdd into hgst but it wont read it..

thanks

denywinarto

Aug 11, 2016
Anyone ? I followed this guide
How to Update Firmware on LSI 9211-8i ?
But i can't seem to update the second controller.. Even though i already select the corresponding PCIE address.. It always selects the first one

Now the listall says 2 controllers, one with FW 20 and the second one with FW 13...

any idea why?

SycoPath

Oct 8, 2014
Anyone ? I followed this guide
How to Update Firmware on LSI 9211-8i ?
But i can't seem to update the second controller.. Even though i already select the corresponding PCIE address.. It always selects the first one

Now the listall says 2 controllers, one with FW 20 and the second one with FW 13...

any idea why?
If you have never heard of "RTFM" you should Google it ;)

The help function for sas2flash lists all the commands available. One of them is the -c # flag which allows you to specify a different controller.

There is also the full documentation available from LSI'S website via a google search or https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sou...ghHMAM&usg=AFQjCNFHBHMs00LEdSPtd1pi6l1GsPoyMA