My ZFS NAS build/benchmark history so far (4+ builds) - long time lurker now a member

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

sfbayzfs

May 6, 2015
SF Bay area
Greetings,
I have been reading the site/forums for a few years now, but am finally posting!

Linux sysadmin by trade, my first NAS was a Thecus N7700. After outgrowing it, I decided to do a 15-drive ZFS build (#1) which a friend copied with a different motherboard. My wife said it would be full by the time I finished it, so I built a 20-disk unit (#2). That filled up and, I started using the N7700 again, and I am finally deploying a 36-drive Supermicro build (#3) now! Between builds 2 and 3, I almost deployed an inexpensive 8-11 drive unit (#4) and convinced a friend with 2 Drobos to consolidate onto it.

All of these have the same usage profile, so I'm listing it first:

Usage Profile:
General SAMBA share for media storage and streaming from, plus random PC backups. Squeezeboxserver eventually (that is still on the Thecus, but I need to docker-ize it or something)

Build’s Name: #1 - 15-drive custom trayless hotswap tower
Operating System/ Storage Platform: Nas4Free 9 since Freenas was only 8.x at the time, and he didn't want to go with ZOL at the time
CPU: Xeon e3-1220L 20W 2C/4T
Motherboard: Supermicro X9SCM-F for me, an Asus workstation board for my friend
Chassis: AZZA Solano 1000 ATX Full Tower Computer Case CSAZ-1000R, 10x 5.25in Bays fitted with 5x iStarUSA 2x5.25in to 3x3.5in SAS / SATA Trayless Hot-Swap Cage, Model: BPN-DE230SS-RED
Drives: 15x 5400RPM Hitachi 4TB plus an SSD for the OS
RAM: 32GB ECC unbuffered DDR3 1333
Add-in Cards: 2x IBM M1015 IT mode