Multiplying SAS ports without backplane?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

rumpelstilz

May 27, 2022
I would like to connect 16 drives to an onboard LSI SAS2308 6Gbps HBA. The HBA is present on my X9SRH board in form of blue SATA-style connectors, eight of them.

1694196021625.png

Would it be possible to "multiply" these 8 ports, so I can connect more than 8 drives, without having to use a backplane?
It's my first time working with SAS, so I'm not entirely sure if what I want is even possible. I was hoping I could use an adapter like this for the job:

1694196111248.png

(i.e. attach this board to a SAS HDD, connect my onboard ports to "primary", and connect an additional drive via "secondary")

Assuming this would work, do I need any special data cables with my onboard SAS connectors, or are these compatible with SATA data cables?
And would the 2nd drive also need to be a SAS drive, or could I connect a SATA drive to the "secondary" port?
Thanks for the help!

BlueFox

Legendary Member Spam Hunter Extraordinaire
Oct 26, 2015
The adapter you linked is not for daisy-chaining drives (which is not a thing with any type of disk). SAS disks have 2 ports and that exposes both to be uses with breakout cables.

You need a SAS expander if you want to attach more drives. An example would be an Intel RES2SV240.

You'll find that unless you are using the integrated RAID functionality, it's cheaper to just get another SAS or SATA HBA than an expander. You already have 14 ports on the motherboard, assuming you are using SATA drives.

rumpelstilz

May 27, 2022
Unfortunately I don't have any i/o left, and I need those SATA ports elsewhere, so I'll have to use an expander.