MegaRAID cannot import foreign config (CacheCade too)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

TheBR

Jul 2, 2015
Hey All, Have a disaster on my hands, got a LSI 9266-8i controller with cachecade (2 x SSD in RAID 1) and 4x WD RED in RAID10 running an ESXi 6 Homelab in a Lenovo TS140.

The system fell over this morning and upon reboot didn't recognize the config and is saying it cant import the foreign config. Looking in the MegaRAID BIOS i can see that one disk from EACH array is saying REBUILD, the partner disks are green.

Any attempt to import the foreign config from here is met with an error.

I booted up an Ubuntu Live USB and installed MegaCLI from which i have been able to do some diagnostics, but im NOT an expert, in fact its pretty much new to me (MegaCLi not Ubuntu)

I ran the following commands:-

./MegaCli64 -CfgForeign -Dsply -a0 | grep "Foreign configuration"

Foreign configuration 0 on controller 0:

Foreign configuration 1 on controller 0:

Foreign configuration 2 on controller 0:

Foreign configuration 3 on controller 0:

./MegaCli64 -CfgForeign -Dsply -a0 >> foreign.txt (to have a look at the config)

and finally tried to import the first config:-

./MegaCli64 -CfgForeign -Import 0 -a0

However i then get :-

root@ubuntu:/opt/MegaRAID/MegaCli# ./MegaCli64 -CfgForeign -Import 0 -a0

FW does not have Security key, create Security key first.
Failed to import foreign configuration 0 on controller 0.

FW error description:
The requested command has invalid arguments.

Now why is it asking for a security key? I took a look at the docs and it seems to indicate that it could be linked to SafeStore but i DONT have safestore enabled.

Looking through the foreign config text file i created above all drives show as
Secured: Unsecured
Locked: Unlocked

So im not sure why its asking to create a key?