Married Guys Can Have Labs Too! My cluster...

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

briandm81

Aug 31, 2014
So I'm not an IT professional any more, but I still love to stay current as my hobby. I used to be an IT guy, then a DBA, and now a consultant specializing in the EPM offering from Oracle. I like to have several versions up and running all the time, so that means a lot of capacity.

My current cluster started off as a single server towards the end of 2014. My wife was frustrated that she couldn't figure out what to get me for my birthday...so she asked what I wanted. I suggested a server...after I got done explaining why I needed a new server or a server at all, I built the first server in cluster. I was actually able to take the storage part of my old server to start with:

Build’s Name: HyperionESXi
Operating System/ Storage Platform: ESXi 5.5
CPU: Dual Xeon E5-2620 V2 @ 2.1 GHz
Motherboard: ASRock EP2C602-4L/D16
Chassis: Norco 4224 (from the server before this one)
Drives: Samsung 840 500GB SSD (from the server before this one), 2x 840 EVO's, 4x840 Pro's, 8x2TB Desktars in RAID6 (from the server before this one)
RAM: 128GB (8x16GB Kingston @ 1600MHz)
Add-in Cards: Areca 1880i (from the server before this one), LSI 9265-8i, HP SAS Expander (from the server before this one)
Power Supply: Thermaltake 1200W
Other Bits: Norco Open Rack

This was a great start, but I eventually ran out of storage and memory. So I upgraded the server to 256GB of RAM, added another pair of 500GB SSD's, and expanded the RAID array to 12 drives from 8. So the final specs of the server ended up being this:

Build’s Name: HyperionESXi
Operating System/ Storage Platform: ESXi 5.5
CPU: Dual Xeon E5-2620 V2 @ 2.1 GHz
Chassis: Norco 4224
Drives: Samsung 840 500GB SSD, 2x 840 EVO's, 2x 950 EVO's, 12x 2TB Desktars in RAID6
RAM: 256GB (16x16GB Kingston @ 1600MHz)