Looking for the perfect machine for my home usage server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

luxela

Jan 2, 2024
Hello everyone,

I've decided that this year I'd like to set up a small server for my home. One that's powerful enough and economical to use.

I'd like the community to help me find the ideal machine.
I'd like to have a rather compact machine, to put in a 10" rack in the cellar.
This machine shouldn't consume a lot of power, but still have a bit to spare.

I'm thinking of starting with Proxmox.
The idea would be to have an OpenWRT or Opensense firewall. (2.5 Gbps LAN x2 or more)
Plus a few other things, like versioning server, database, web server (tomcat). Nothing serious, just for my own tinkering and testing, as I'm a dev.
If there's any power left, a game server like minecraft. The kids will be old enough soon. :D
Network disk for the house for all sorts of content, documents, administrative paperwork, photos. Why not Jellyfin too.
Edit: And Home assistant or similar.

I've seen some pretty good machines, like CWWT, TOPTON and so on.
But what I'm looking for is a machine like that, but with the capacity to host hard drives as well. The marriage of a mini firewall machine and a Nas.

Do you know if it exists? Or do I have no choice but to turn to two different machines? Which means duplication of components and power consumption.
Or set up my own server piece by piece.

Also. Processor-wise, from what I've currently seen in terms of perf per watt I've seen these as processors:
- AMD Ryzen 7 7730U
- AMD Ryzen 7 5800U / 5825U
- Intel Core i5-1230U
- Intel Core i3-N300 / N200 / N100

What do you think?
We look forward to hearing from you

Last edited:

luxela

Jan 2, 2024
Hi, guys,

Well, after some research, I don't have the impression that what I'm looking for actually exists.