Ipfire or ? in 2024

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Napalm

Sep 8, 2021
I'm new to the roll your own router game, and I'm coming from a ubiquity edge router device. I have a symmetric 1gb connection and might later move to a 2gb. the price is surprisingly cheap 85 per month.

anyway I'm got a nas server box and I like to tinker so this is the next project. I plan on getting either a topton or similar box from aliexpress with n100, 8gb ram, and 128gb M.2, with the 4 v226 nic's. OR I get an Ikoolcore R2 device. But the topton is cheaper.

and I've read a number of things about various router OS's but a lot of the bits I read are from pre 2020. and while I know PFsense is the auto knee jerk answer, I was wondering if I'd be better off elsewhere. also I hear terrible things about pfsense support.

I'm curious if there is new better info out there. Alot of reads point to IPfire working very well, and others point to OPNsense but I think I want a linux distro based router os. Besides everything else I run is linux based.

Tech Junky

Oct 26, 2023
I run Ubuntu and for the FW just use IP tables. Just Google homebrew router Linux and you'll get a walk through.

Stephan

Apr 21, 2017
Germany
85 for 1/1, Switzerland?

Doing the same but on Arch. Highly custom and full customizability with iptables and ebtables (old school), like NAT'ing outgoing port 25 SMTP via an external IP in a datacenter so mail delivery is working nicely.

I suspect he wants a GUI solution though. For 1 Gbit/s a Skylake-class CPU is necessary. N100 should be enough. Question is, what should the firewall do except NAT and except not allow mostly anything. Feature-set determines solution. Another question, what should the learning curve be. Just GUI click click done or learn something about security and networking?