Hitachi Harddisks Thread (5K3000, 7K3000, 7K2000)

Discussion in 'Hard Drives and Solid State Drives' started by odditory, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hitachi 2TB 7K2000 (HDS722020ALA330)

    Current firmware: 3MA
    Previous firmare: 3EA, 28A, 20N (newest to oldest)

    Description: This firmware applies to Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2TB 7K2000 harddisks, model 0F10311. For other makes and models of drives you'll need to contact Hitachi support. The following information is being provided since its very difficult to get these files from Hitachi support, as they understandably don't want to create unnecessary RMA's by the software being misused (applied to a wrong drive or with improper procedure).

    Instructions: The Hitachi firmware update utility JKDL_SP.EXE must be run in DOS mode, so place it on something like a Win98 bootdisk. Connect your disks to your motherboard SATA port(s), and make sure your SATA mode is set to "IDE/LEGACY" rather than AHCI. Repeat an AHCI mode SATA port will not work correctly in DOS mode. You will NOT lose any data on the harddisk, the update does not touch the disk surfaces - I've flashed over 60 of these drives without issue. Lastly, the type of firmware file is "BDX" which you can answer when prompted. Follow the prompts and reboot.

    NOTE: A drive with firmware version 20N or 28A must FIRST be upgraded to 3EA before it can be upgraded to 3MA. To verify your firmware version, run the JKDL_SP.EXE tool without any parameters. If flashing 28A and 20N drives to 3EA, you do not need to reboot to then apply the 3MA update. You can do them one after the next in the same session.

    7K2000 DOWNLOAD
    This zip file contains the JKDL_SP.EXE tool, and firmware files for 3EA and 3MA.
     
    #1
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
    SkOrPn likes this.
  2. rmd3003

    rmd3003 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odditory, do you know where to get firmware for 3TB 7K3000 drives. Some of my drives manufactured in NOV2010 and some in JAN2011. Older drives have 3B0 and newer have 580. My concern is that I'm running them on LSI controller and I want all drives to be perfectly the same. Or there is nothing to worry?
     
    #2
  3. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    You can take a shot at emailing Hitachi support and requesting it along with your explanation, support_usa [at] hitachigst [dot] com. You can also try cc'ing Adrian [dot] Cutler at the same domain.

    you'll also want to include all the numbers from one or two of your drives since if you don't they'll ask you to supply it and it'll be more time delay. example of what I sent them for 5K3000 firmware request:

    0F12117MNL5800C0C, P/N:0F12117, S/N: F30AUXXX, MLC: MNL580, FW: 580, stickers on front of drive: ML0221, F30AU9AD

    be forewarned it could take weeks and multiple requests before you get a reply. note their slowness to respond to firmware requests isn't a reflection of their support in general - given OTOH they have a fast turnaround on RMA's/replacements. understandably they're apprehensive about handing out firmware like candy because it could lead to average end users getting a false sense of a problem where none really exists, as in everyone assuming they need latest firmware.

    Truth be told i never really had issues running mixtures of differing firmware revs between 1TB and 2TB Hitachi's in my raid arrays over the last 4 years. Getting them all on the same revision was more academic than anything - I didn't notice anything different after flashing them all. The one problem i had with timeouts on an areca controller that seemed to disappear with newest 7K2000 firmware I could never really pinpoint to be the fault of the drives.
     
    #3
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2011
  4. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you think I can get the firmware 580 for the 5K3000 from you odditory? I sent a 2-3 already but still no reply yet.
     
    #4
  5. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    Don't have it yet.
     
    #5
  6. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, well i'll let you know if I do get it then...:)
     
    #6
  7. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a quick update...Patrick got back to me and I just gave him the p/n and s/n of my drives with the 180 firmware on the 5K3000

    EDIT
    Okay so i got the firmware but with a windows based updater...Hitest 2.23...BUT i am getting a error running the program :mad:
     
    #7
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2011
  8. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    I haven't really messed w/ the windows based updater. Last time it was easier to use the dos util JKDL_SP.EXE.

    As for the ROM file just rename the extension .BD to .BDX if using the dos util.
     
    #8
  9. Patrick

    Patrick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    11,541
    Likes Received:
    4,464
    You did/ I did? I think you may be a bit confused.
     
    #9
  10. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    He was talking about the Hitachi GST employee with the same name.
     
    #10
  11. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL...yes patrick...it was a Hitachi employee. I'll give it a try odditory....thanks
     
    #11
  12. rmd3003

    rmd3003 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sent an email to Hitachi almost two weeks ago - nothing yet. My 3TB 7K3000 are crying for new firmware......... Somebody?
    Should I send another one?
     
    #12
  13. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    No matter what SATA mode i set it to ...it doesn't detect the drive when i run the jkdl_sp.exe. I am using a Asus Maximus III Extreme mobo. Any Ideas?

    IDE --> Enhanced
    IEE --> Compatibility
    IDE --> Disabled
     
    #13
  14. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    hey iceboi, yeah I *think* the JKDL_SP.exe tool won't deal with the newer 6G drives like the 5K3000 and 7K3000's. i should've actually tested it on my own 5K3000's but wanted to get the firmware up for people first. this may end up being a windows-tool-only flash update, I will test and post up instructions.
     
    #14
  15. JSchuricht

    JSchuricht Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    41
    Just flashed my 2TB 7K2000 cold spare from 20N to 3EA then 3MA for testing. It is now a 1TB drive :confused:. Any ideas before I RMA it?
     
    #15
  16. iceboi714

    iceboi714 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey oditory,

    Thanks for looking into this...I also tried to contact Hitachi again...will keep you posted if they come back with anything.
     
    #16
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011
  17. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    Drive turning into a 1TB doesn't make any sense, you sure you get the firmware files from the OP? I've flashed like 80 x 7K2000's to 3MA and never had a single issue.
     
    #17
  18. JSchuricht

    JSchuricht Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    41
    Didn't make any sense to me either. They are the files listed in the first post.
     
    #18
  19. odditory

    odditory Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    18
    What's the model# of your drive? Example 0F10311
     
    #19
  20. JSchuricht

    JSchuricht Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    41
    0F10311.
    I have 25 of them, the other 24 have been working flawlessly for over a year and show up as 2tb.
     
    #20
Similar Threads: Hitachi Harddisks
Forum Title Date
Hard Drives and Solid State Drives Looking for Hitachi firmware Dec 17, 2017
Hard Drives and Solid State Drives Hitachi HUA722020ALA330 1TB or 2TB ???? Dec 16, 2017
Hard Drives and Solid State Drives Opinions on Hitachi Desktar NAS Drives Nov 26, 2017
Hard Drives and Solid State Drives Strange bottleneck on 12Gbps Hitachi HUSMM ssd's Nov 4, 2017
Hard Drives and Solid State Drives Performance Specs (Hitachi HUSSL vs Intel S3500) Oct 21, 2017

Share This Page