Help with SFP(+)

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

oharag

Feb 18, 2024
I'm just getting into home networking. I'm very confused about SFP(+) connection schemes.

I bought a MS-01 (I got my shipping notification - we will see if it finally gets to my home). So, this has QNTY 2 SFP+ connectors on the back that support Link Aggregation. I'm hoping for my UGreen 6 bay NAS with QNTY 2 10Gbe RJ45 connectors that support Link Aggr. So, I would rather run Copper than optical due to cost, and in my mind copper has less chance to become damaged during running cable. So, I've been looking at a Switch (I guess managed - hopefully POE(+)) that has QNTY 6 10Gbe ports - 2 for MS-01, 2 for NAS, 2 for two computer connections. I found this:

Amazon.com: TEROW 22 Port Multi-Gigabit L3 Managed Switch| 16 x 2.5G Poe Ethernet Ports, 6 x 10G SFP+ Ports| @250W/52V| IEEE802.3af/at| Support QoS,Extend/VLAN Mode/Rackmount : Electronics

This is similar to the ieRON one posted on this forum somewhere.

Further down the page it says:
01 - Q Why switch turn off when SFP is connected (CHinese English)?
A. Our SFP port only support 1.25G and 10G Optical Fiber Module.

So, I thought SFP allowed for both RJ45 Copper and Optical SFP modules. Is this not the case?

I've looking high and low for my perfect switch - 6 10GBE ports (hopefully copper) - and maybe 8-10 2.5 GBE copper with POE capability. I looked at Alibaba - man that sucks trying to find anything. I found the one above on Amazon. Maybe more 2.5 Gbe ports than what I want/need. Since this is Chinese - there really isn't much info to go by reliably. Any thoughts - if I buy the one linked above - will I be able to purchase SFP RJ45 modules and it will work in my scenario?

Also - any other recommendations would be appreciated for my dream switch.

I found this as well: