ESXi and Cisco VIRL home Lab - Hardware Options

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

bishun

Jan 5, 2017
Hey all, I'm a network engineer by trade and have played with ESXi in the past. I have a HP ProLiant N40L that I don't often turn on anymore because it really isn't enough machine to do much, luckily it wasn't a huge investment either.

This is my first post here, hopefully this is an OK sub-forum for this topic.

I recently started looking at Cisco VIRL which is a virtual environment for Cisco's networking OS's, and it supports some of them that GNS3 can't (Nexus, and ASA devices). So here I am looking at server options again for the first time in a few years.

After some brief searching, the Supermicro SYS-E300-8D caught my eye (Tenet's E300-8D thread brought me here). I have a 13U rack which is now mostly empty due to selling off Cisco lab hardware, so I'm leaning towards a rack-mountable server.

Hoping to hear some possible suggestions for the following requirements, basically in this order of importance:

1. Quiet, I need to run this in my apartment, and it will be in or near the living room. It can be above a whisper of course, but this is the reason I'm not buying a used Dell off of eBay or something.

2. Powerful enough to run ESXi and VIRL (bare-metal) without being disappointed by performance. I'll boot into either as needed. I'm thinking at any given time if I was booting into ESXi to play, I'd want to be able to spin up at least 4 VMs - don't need fancy graphics, these would probably be a mixture of WIN/*NIX.

3. Cost / Power consumption - I'm willing to throw some money at something if it's meeting the above requirements. I'm also hoping not to spend more than $2,000, at least not immediately. The cost is less important than having a sufficiently quiet/powerful virtual lab.