EOS RDMA configuration?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

11notes

Mar 13, 2022
Does anyone know how to configure RDMA on EOS (Arista)? I've searched everywhere but I do not find a single example or guide or blogpost or anything. I would like to switch my vSAN cluster from ETH to RDMA, the NICs supports it, the switch supports it. I have two Arista DCS-7050QX-32S with firmware 4.26.4. RDMA is enabled in vSphere but of course I’m missing the configuration on the switch side. I’m not a network engineer. Each server has one uplink to each switch. Both switches are connected via a single QSFP+ port. vSphere complains about missing PFC as well as DCB configuration on the switch.

I would even be willing to pay something for anyone who can help me out.

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
iwarp? or roce?

I've searched everywhere but I do not find a single example or guide or blogpost or anything.
that's because rdma works without any special configuration on the switch (the additional configuration for pfc, dcb etc. makes sure that rdma traffic has the correct priority etc. and no rdma frames are "lost")
vSphere complains about missing PFC as well as DCB configuration on the switch.
that's what you need to google :D

11notes

Mar 13, 2022
RoCE v2, I've seen your link, but as a non-network person this is all gibberish to me.

dcbx application tcp-sctp 860 priority 5

Shows how to configure source port TCP 860 for iSCSI, I would not even know which source port vSAN uses.

When I check a server port (used for vSAN) with dcbx I get this:

show dcbx Et21/1
Ethernet21/1:
No IEEE DCBX TLVs were received

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
this is all gibberish to me
After reading this I started getting really uncomfortable :D
I would not even know which source port vSAN uses.
There is a lot of documentation (official + third party stuff) about esxi/vsphere and it's components