Different version of xeon 2666 v3 ES or similar CPU

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

gentlegy

Feb 20, 2018
Hello guys,

I'm new to buying an ES CPU. I have put the same question on the ES discussion thread and found no answer yet. So I decided to create a new thread to let more people could see. With regard to CPU, I am particularly interested in Xeon E5 2666 v3 ES for the balance between high frequency and # cores. This CPU is not shown ark of Intel, and it is deployed in Amazon AWS. My main usage of this CPU is to support a workstation for deep learning and my daily usage as well. I checked a lot of information through web and found out there are actually two late ES version 2.9G with:
1) stepping 2, revision M0;
2) stepping 2, revision R2.
The sellers for both all claim these CPUs are QS. I also saw some CPU-Z images for the "retailed" versions have supported both claims. Now, I am confused about which one is better or which one is the "real" QS actually? I know the retailed CPU could turbo boost to 3.5G, but I don't which one would has this capacity more likely.
Can someone have experience with these CPUs give me some guidance? Or other guys who could give me more choices about the Xeon E5 v3 or v4 CPUs based on your usage and my requirement? Besides using as deep learning machine, I am also considering to have two of them to build a web server in future. Any suggestion or idea would really appreciate it.

Best,
Yang

Marsh

May 12, 2013
How much the CPU cost?
Do you have the exact stepping ?
Ask for screenshot of CPUZ and HWinfo ?

My pair of E5-2666v3 QFSC is QS CPU, R2 version.
With the all-core-turbo bios , it would reached 3.3GHZ all cores.

E5-QFSC.PNG

gentlegy

Feb 20, 2018
Hi Marsh,

The sellers are from taobao.com. The ES version typically costs $250 - $300 and the retail version costs $3000-$4000. Check out these CPUZ the seller provided.