Dell Poweredge R730 & Rack 7910 Riser GPU power pinout question

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.
Feb 21, 2022
Been getting ready to mess around with a Poweredge R730 and Rack 7910 today. I was verifying the pinouts on the riser and found something odd. Sense pin B appears to be putting out -3.3V. The official Dell power cable has a jumper wire going between sense pin A to sense pin B. This wiring seems odd to me. Plus this is the first time I have seen any voltage on a PCI Express power pin that isn't +12V. I am no expert, and I seem to be striking out on google. Is this the "proper" way to use the sense pin? I'm guessing if I dig hard enough I could find the official power pinout standards for PCI express, but google is fighting me.

Also my pinout image is if you are looking directly at the riser connector. If you flip the image on the vertical axis that would be the pinout of the cable.

Attachments

RolloZ170

Apr 24, 2016
All Dell power interposer board's have a current sense chip with PMBus interface.
this information can be used to detect existance of GPU and verify for proper power supply/addtional FANs.
i.e. on a T640: if you install two GPU you have to install two air shrouds and add. FAN's to get the IDRAC errors/warnings away.

Last edited:
Reactions: What_Is_Computer
Feb 21, 2022
Interesting. Until recently most of the GPU power cables available were aftermarket ones. The aftermarket ones aren't wired like the genuine Dell cables.

On the 12th gen Dells the GPU power connectors don't have the -3.3V pin. The cables that I have been making that are wired straight through have been working. Although my R720 won't ramp up the fans with my Tesla M40 like it did with the Tesla K80. I was under the impression that was a firmware issue, not a power sense issue.

RolloZ170

Apr 24, 2016