Dell H200i Works on Passthrough in OEM Firmware (I think - can you confirm?)

What made you think your H200 firwmare needed changing to LSI's?

• I read that I should but really didn't try it myself first

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Lampbearer

Jan 14, 2018
Thanks - love the board - have read for dozens of hours over days but hoping for a few crumbs from the experienced to save more dozens of hours.

I just bought my first server - an R510 - though I've been a computer pro for decades (DB SW and only Home HW)
I swapped out the PERC H700 to an H200 because, like everyone, I am running ZFS.
The card came flashed with Firmware 07.15.04.00 and Bios 07.11.01.00.
I flashed to Dell's latest (A10 for the H200I - integrated - 07.15.08.00 and 07.11.10.00)
I'll give more info below in case needed, but here is my question.

Main Question:
I think this card works fine in actual passthrough mode with OEM firmware as an IR device. Can someone who knows HBAs better convince me I'm wrong given the proof I'll share below?

Proof:
I plugged in a 4TB SATA drive (512e) and an 8T SATA drive (512e). The firmware says "IR" on boot, yet, finds and reports the drives WITHOUT pressing CTL-C or doing any configuring. Booting into Debian 9 (Proxmox) and viewing connection parameters, the drives are shown in /dev/disk and the connection speed on the drive that is capable of SATA 3.0 correctly shows "operating at 6Gbps".

I'm new to this HBA/RAID/IR/IT thing and I've read a lot. But doesn't this PROVE that the H200I using Dell OEM firmware is, in fact, using passthrough on drives that are not registered through the RAID control panel in the H200 (CTL-C)? I know some RAID cards can do that using RAID0 virtual drives, but surely I would have to TELL it to do that, wouldn't I?