CLF's Micro-Lab

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

CreoleLakerFan

Oct 29, 2013
Background

I work as an Information Security Architect and am putting together a lab to hone exploit development, pen-testing, and other security skills. As a secondary goal, I will be working toward obtaining VMware credentials. I Took ICM back in 2012 but found it useless except for fulfilling the instructor-led course requirement for the VCP. Since I have never held a focused virtualization role (lots of side projects) some lab play is essential toward obtaining the VCP (and beyond).

I obtained the bulk of the gear for my lab in November-December of 2013, but 2014 was a very busy year - we moved into our new home in May 2014 and had our second child arrive mid-November. I will be taking advantage of 12-weeks of family leave over the next year, the first stretch of which begins soon. I hope to devote much of that time to study and lab work.

I initially planned on a C6100, but ultimately decided against it. We live in the California central valley and temps in summer spike to 110; placing a rack in the garage gives cause for concern. I chose the lab components based on small power, noise, and physical footprints. This turned out to be a very good decision, as my office is westward facing and I have a difficult time keeping it cool in the summer (I work exclusively from home).

The lab hosts are on the bottom shelf: a NAS and two ESXi nodes. Networking is provided by an SG300-10 (bottom), and point to point Infiniband cables. The UNAS 800 on the top shelf houses FreeBSD serving a 20TB RAIDZ6 zvol to my home; the top SG300-10 is for the office/home network.