Can Windows 11 do 10 Gbps?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

EncryptedUsername

Feb 1, 2024
I am new to the world of fiber networks, so I thought I'd dip my toes in cautiously to start with a small investment before diving into switches.

My goal, directly connect two machines via 10 G Fiber and get full bandwidth.
In short, I have partially succeeded as it is a bit lack luster and a little disappointing. So perhaps I just need my expectations checked, or perhaps something is wrong (i.e. I should have spent more money).

Machine A: Windows 11 latest, Intel i9-9900K, 32GB RAM, ASUS ROG Maximus Hero XI, card installed in the bottom x16 slot (Chipset z390). NVME read/write are 2 GB/s or better.
Machine B: Windows 11 latest, Intel i9-13900K, 64 GB RAM, ASUS ROG Maximus Z790 Hero, card installed in the bottom x16 slot (Chipset z790). NVME read/write are 5 GB/s or better.
The two NICs: NICGIGA Intel 82599(X520-DA1): https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0CM37WWXF?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1
The two SFP+ modules (intel coding): https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01CN82LP8?ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details&th=1
The Cable: 10m https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01C5HHFVC?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2ov_dt_b_product_details
Static IPs on both ends, in a subnet that can't be confused with my existing legacy NICs.

I plugged it all in, installed the wired driver package from Intel's download site: Wired_driver_28.3_x64.zip

The cards are recognized, I've got lights on the NICs showing 10G link, all good. Although Windows shows this, depending where you look. It's only been 40 years. Give them some time to get link speed reporting working.
1707784812787.png 1707784843313.png

Here's where the disappointment comes:
  • iperf3 maxes out between the machines (in either direction) at about 6.5 Gbps. I have to use -w 1024k otherwise it only gets 2.5 Gbps!