[Build help] Home pc for CAD and othe uses

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Ingeniare

Jun 11, 2015
Hello everyone, I'm a student and this is what I'm looking forward to assembling for my first time. If anyone could look over this and critique it? I don't know if you guys help with builds or not, but it will be much appreciated.

Intended use: I'm looking to build a workstation pc primarily for these CAD programs AutoCAD, Inventor and SolidWorks. Also for school and general use. I'd like it to support up to 2-3 monitors and a 1080p @120hz hdtv.
Might play some games like SW Battlefront, ESO Skyrim-Present, Fallout 3-present, Battlefields.

Budget: within $1200-$2000 possibly.

C612 build:

CPU: E5-1620V3 ~$300
MOBO: Supermicro X10SRA-F ~$300
RAM: 2 X M393A1G40DB0-CPB (or equivalent from Micron/Crucial/Hynix/Kingston) ~$250
GPU: Quadro K2200 ~$440 or W5100 ~$350
SSD: 256GB Plextor M6 Pro ~$150
Storage: Western Digital WD1002F9YZ ~$100
PSU: Antec HCP-750 ~$135
HSF: SilverStone AR01 ~$35

Additional Details: I was suggested these parts by someone already a couple of months ago and I'm finally getting around to actually ordering them. . I couldnt fine theses mobo or PSU that was also suggested in pcpartpicker. They don't have WS mobo's i guess. MOBO: Supermicro X10SRA-F PSU: Antec HCP-750

Also I've seen different models of the X10SRA-F, such as X10SRA-O or endng with -F-O and was wondering if its the same board?
Is there a more affordable C612 mobo thats equivalent to the X10SRA?

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Check the "For Sale" section here a # of people have parts you can mix-match and get them cheaper than what you've listed, and hopefully less risky than ebay :D

At-least for the RAM, HD and maybe CPU :)

andrewbedia

Jan 11, 2013