Build Feedback: 96TB NAS w/ Room For Expansion

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

scolby33

Aug 26, 2020
Hello all,

I'm looking to replace my current 16TB NAS (A4-5300, Debian, mdadm, mixture of 4 and 2TB drives) with something with more storage and room for the future. I expect to use it for media storage, Jellyfin, backups of other computers, miscellaneous cron jobs (including uploading incremental backups to a cloud service), and light serving duties. My reasons for the upgrade are running out of space in the face of a growing media collection, making space to back up family members' computers instead of just my own, and just boredom/upgrade lust--the existing NAS has been serving me since sometime around 2013.

I have never built on a server platform before and so went for a more consumer-style build because of familiarity. I'd be willing to experiment with server components, but I don't know where to start, which is part of the reason why I'm posting here.

Here's the initial parts list, which is slightly modified from the exact list you'll find by following the PCPartPicker list due to some missing parts there.

"Silver" (the old NAS is "Copper," so I'm going one better)
PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 2600 3.4 GHz 6-Core Processor
Motherboard: Asus ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING ATX AM4 Motherboard
Memory: 4x Kingston 32 GB (1 x 32 GB) DDR4-2993 CL21 Memory (KSM29ED8/32ME)
Boot Device: 2x Western Digital Blue SN550 500 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive
Bulk Storage: 8x Seagate Exos X14 12 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Case: Fractal Design Define 7 XL ATX Full Tower Case
Power Supply: Corsair RMx (2018) 850 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
HBA: LSI LOGIC SAS 9207-8i Storage Controller LSI00301

Possible Future Additions
More storage:
HBA: LSI LOGIC SAS 9207-8i Storage Controller LSI00301