BIOS/GPU/USB 3.0 Compatibility issues with S2600CP Build

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

jrittle

Jul 24, 2016
Hello All,

I recently purchased the Natex dual 2670 mobo combo and have encountered a few issues with BIOS compatibility w/ various software and hardware components. I saw that a bunch of people have dealt with similar issues here, but I've never built a server before so I'm definitely a novice here.

With the old BIOS installed on the board from NATEX, I could install RAM, a SSD, HD, GPU (750 ti in the x16 slot nearest the CPU's) and sound card in a lower PCI slot (everything is packaged in an Enthoo pro case with an EVGA 650W PSU). Successful install of Win10 enterprise - GPU works great - dual monitors look beautiful; Ubuntu installs, but freezes on boot. I think this has to do with Linux hardware identification particulars (nomodeset, etc..) but I could be wrong. One quirky thing I've noticed is that on each boot there is 6 rapid beeps from the mb...not sure if thats good/bad but others on this site have noted 'silent boots' with similar setups...

The problems really started when I couldn't get a USB 3.0 PCI hub (Anker 2-port from amazon) to install properly and be identified in Win10. I noticed the BIOS version (i don't remember the exact #) pre-dated 2014 so I figured the mobo simply couldn't identify USB 3.0 properly.

I flashed the latest BIOS to the latest version (2.06.0002) and all hell broke loose. Following reboot the screen hangs w/ 4 lines of text that include the BIOS version. If I remove all of the PCI cards, its OK and I can get to windows, but that's obviously not useful. I downgraded the BIOS to version (2.05.0004) and saw the same results.