best storage for ESXi VM environment

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

hieu2ueih

Oct 15, 2013
Hi,

I'm new to the serverthehome forums and to building servers at home. I currently have 4 1TB drive in a Raid5 on the on board Intel ICH10r controller. I continue to have a particular drive pop out when the array is not in use, but will usually reconnect without issue. However, sometimes I do have to rebuild and my drive is horrendously slow. I wanted to do an upgrade and was able to get my hands on a 1GB RS25AB080 raid controller for $200 dollars. I don't know much about the card other than it's an LSI card and looks similar to the IBM M5016. I have been contemplating a new ESXi VM environment and wanted to know what people thought would be best storage option. I was considering 6x 2TB drives in RAID10 and 1x 500GB Samsung 840 Pro for Cachecade PRO. I was wondering if this is an optimal solution or is Raid5 still optimal? Also any suggestions on drives? I was thinking either the WD Nas or Seagate Constellations.

Thanks!

Last edited:

lpallard

Aug 17, 2013
Hmm good question, I am in the same boat myself. Right now, I am leaning toward a ServeRAID M5016 with 2X 2TB SAS drives in RAID1 (new drives of course). With your 6x 2TB drives in RAID10, do you really need 6TB of storage space for the VM's?

For me the budget is the barrier to my ambitions... For now I will concentrate the crucial/critical stuff (priority 1) onto the RAID1 array and have my other stuff I want to keep (priority 2) on a RAID5 array with weekly rsnapshot backups to offline hot-swappable drives.

I was wondering if this is an optimal solution or is Raid5 still optimal?