1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best OS and software for Machine Learning and Deep Learning

Discussion in 'Machine Learning, Deep Learning, and AI' started by frozen, Jul 29, 2017.

?

Which is the best OS for machine learning and deep learning

1. Mac OS

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Windows 10 and Creator Update

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Windows 7

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Linux (which favour?)

100.0%
  5. Others

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. frozen

frozen Member

Hello, I am a Mac user but I have also used Windows and Linux. I have a degree in AI many years ago but haven't worked on Machine Learning and Deep Learning. I am considering to replace my old computer and I am interested in learning Machine Learning and Deep Learning. Which is the best OS for Machine Learning and Deep Learning? What software do I need to install? Thank you.

2. Patrick

Patrick Administrator
    Staff Member

Ubuntu Linux w/ a NVIDIA GTX 1080 Ti is what you want as of today.

Then, get into nvidia-docker which will make life extraordinarily easy.

java and frozen like this.
  3. frozen

frozen Member

Thanks Patrick. I only have an old MacBook Pro at home. Considering to get a MacBook Pro 2017 15" or a lightweight laptop with a desktop PC. Will that be good enough if I choose the latest MacBook Pro and add an eGPU GTX 1080 Ti? Should I choose an enclosure that would allow me to add multiple GTX 1080 Ti for future proof? I suppose it is better to install the Ubuntu Linux natively rather than though an emulator. Am I correct?

Not sure if Thunderbolt 3 and eGPU will work on the MBP under Ubuntu Linux.

4. Patrick

Patrick Administrator
    Staff Member