AM5 B650 2U Rack Workstation - seeking components! "El Finito"

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

RDshift

May 6, 2021
Hi! I'm a pretty experienced system builder looking to replace my aging Kaby Lake Xeon with AMD 7000/8000 generation. I plan to use this as my new primary utility and jump box. I'd like to get any input on specific part selections you'd recommend. Energy efficiency is top of mind, but due to all the connection needs, PCIe ports are going to be a challenge.
Bolded is points of interest where I'm most seeking input.

Goals:
  • Uses Server-style B650/B650e motherboard
    • Best today is H13SAE-MF | Motherboards | Products | Supermicro due to PCIe switching options.
    • Must have IPMI
    • Must be right angle for optimal 2u airflow.
    • Should have but does not require at least 1x 80mm or higher M.2
    • Will use PWM fan hub if needed, nodding to the...
  • CPU Heatsink
    • Active/Passive will depend upon chassis fans.
    • Assuming Dynatron for the moment, but would LOVE go to overboard with solid copper, vapor chamber etc. Cooling is key for efficiency of ongoing workloads, and the cooler it is, the more work I get for less power, so this is as important as the CPU.
    • El primo thermal goop, might go with newer-gen Carbon Thermal pads, reluctant to go liquid metal, but wouldn't be my first time.
  • GPU Intel Arc Pro A40. PCIe lanes won't matter much. Likely headless for transcode only. Arc due to low power + AV1 performance. Will replace with Battlemage if reviews are even half-decent.
  • Network:
    • Primary: 10GB SFP+ slot (NOT 10GbE). I'm looking for a PCIe 4.0 SFP+ NIC. 1 port is fine. SFP28 and SFP56 is fine.
    • IPMI