Advice for our next VMware ESXi build server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

sgerstacker

Apr 9, 2021
A little background:

I'm a senior dev at a software development shop. We create custom libraries for multiple customers across every platform. As we grew, we realized we needed to get a pile of VMs running, and we also lucked in to a corporate auction and ended up with a beefy server for cheap. That machine has been running 14 different build VMs for all of products / configurations. Unfortunately, it's about at capacity space wise, along with the fact that its a used server that's just getting old as well.

I'm the one in charge of looking for a replacement, because "tag, you're it!". I'm the only one in the shop that's had IT experience, but that experience ended in 2001, so my knowledge is quite stale. What we're looking for is something with similar resources to what we have, but with just a lot more space. Here's our current set up:

* HP ProLiant DL580 G7
* 32 core / 64 thread Xeon X7560 (4 sockets)
* 256 GB RAM
* 2.33 TB RAID 5 / SSD
* ESXi 6.5

From a performance standpoint, the processing and RAM has been fine. Our build VMs are typically a flavor Linux, 2-4 cores, 2 GB RAM. The space is our constraint. As we go forward, we are dealing with more buildroot / yocto / custom build environments which require a large amount of space.

I think the path forward is spec something similar, but running ESXi 7, with a lot more space, and on newer hardware. The problem is, the server world is very different than I remember, and I'm at a loss. We have no brand loyalty, so any vendor is fine, but I just don't know who / what / where to spec.

Any advice would be appreciated. We don't fully have a budge, but we know it's not going to be cheap.

Marsh

May 12, 2013
Our build VMs are typically a flavor Linux, 2-4 cores, 2 GB RAM.