accessing local drives on my XP vm

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

loady

Aug 7, 2017
Hi,

I have a task to perform that requires an XP machine so i have setup with hyper v an xp VM. At some point i will need to be able to connect a development board to the usb on host and be able to access it in the VM but that is another task for later, for now i need to be able to get files from the host hdd onto the VM disk drive and this is where i am having trouble understanding what i need to do, im quite new to VM. I have successfully set up an internet connection on the VM, if someone could explain the steps i need to do what i need i will be grateful.

Thanks.

loady

Aug 7, 2017
i dont think you can from what i have read, i think the VM is running in enhanced mode from viewing the settings but the option is greyed out in view

K D

Dec 24, 2016
Is the host Hyper-V on windows 10? I am able to copy files to and from via clipboard. But in my case the guest is also a Windows 10 machine.

Alternative would be to create a file share in the host or the guest and use it exchange files.

loady

Aug 7, 2017
ive tried copy and paste, if i copy a file within host the option to paste within VM guest is greyed out

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada
Setting up a shared folder would probably be the long term way to go, but for something quick 'n dirty, I would say maybe use a remote desktop session to quickly share a Disk/ USB etc :)

loady

Aug 7, 2017
I did just that, its been a long since I used xp and had a trying time trying to find where file and printer sharing was located.

My final obstacle is now to be able to use the hosts USB ports, I need to be able to plug in a USB programmer and use it in the xp environment..I have done some reading up on it and the easiest way to do this is by using USB over IP with with some software ?

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada