Search results

1. J

Newbie here setting up OPNsense - Can’t figure out how to assign clients to VLANs

Your access point would need to assign wireless clients to specific VLANs, and for wired clients, your managed Netgear switch would need ports configured as "access" ports on the VLAN in question. With your unmanaged switch, you could put all clients on that switch into the same VLAN. Since it...
  2. J

USFF PC with Power-over-Ethernet (PoE) supply

I've never done it, but I wonder if a PoE 802.3bt splitter (90w output to USB-C) + a USB-C to TinyMiniMicro USB-C power trigger would work...? Something like 90W USB Type-C High Power PoE Splitter - Powering 802.3bt Type 4 PD Devices - Coolgear and...
  3. J

Supermicro X11SPM-TPF (10g sfp+) with silver 4110 in SC847 - ~130w power draw!??

Did you have your D-1518 board in this exact chassis with PSU and fans? How many sticks of RAM? Yes, I'd reduce that down to 1 fan, and 1 stick of RAM.
  4. J

Just created my first Storage Spaces pool and I'm a bit disappointed

Try following Storage Spaces and Slow Parity Performance - Storage Spaces War Stories. Storage Spaces with parity, very slow writes. Solved! is less helpful but talks about the same thing. EDIT: Paste in your powershell commands if you continue to experience slow performance.
  5. J

NAS "Downgrade" Advice

Unfiltered thoughts: Use a power meter and quantify how much each component is contributing. Stay away from AMD if you want lower idle power usage. Use Intel iGPU for transcoding. (Do you need the Tesla P4?). Maybe you should split into 2 systems: do a small Lenovo Tiny (with Intel iGPU) for...
  6. J

Advice on Dropbox replacement for a novice/rookie.

I use Caddy 2 - The Ultimate Server with Automatic HTTPS to reverse proxy self-hosted services. With tcp/80 and tcp/443 forwarded, it provides SSL termination. There's a few options I can think of: You could combine Caddy with something like Authelia - The Single Sign-On Multi-Factor portal...
  7. J