Search results

1. C

am i the only one that hates 12gbps megaraid cards?

I have had nothing but problems with lsagroadcom 12gbps megaraid cards. Corrupt firmware (x3), heatsink mounting pins snapping and overheating, and inability to import foreign configs. All I am using them for is a simple raid1 120gb SSD boot array for esxi. I relied on the LSI VIB in the past...
  2. C

appending ancient orphaned ZFS filesystem as earliest snap?

I have been using ZFS for my network shares since 2013. I keep biannual snaps indefinitely and currently I have biannual snaps from 2014-current. At some point I migrated servers and forgot to send the oldest 2013 snap first. I just came across a copy of this 2013 ZFS filesystem on some old...
  3. C

omnios+nappit 10gb performance: iperf fast, zfs-send slow

I finally made the jump to 10GB on my nappit AIO boxes and thought I had followed all of the recommendations, but I am still getting gigabit speed ZFS sends using NC. The weird thing is iperf gives me 8.9 Gbits/sec throughput so I'm not sure if any of the tuneables will help me here. The pool...
  4. C

maximum PCI resources supermicro X9DRG-QF

My X9DRG-QF will boot fine with 4x Radeon Pro Duo (dual GPU card with 16gb PER GPU) but as soon as i add the 5th it wont post. I am not using any hypervisor, just booting straight to lubuntu. Above 4g decoding is enabled and i have tried all of the different MMIO base settings. Is this a...
  5. C

chune's house build

Here is my build. I am running esxi 5.5 on a ga-7pesh3 with donk's unlocker which allows for mac guests to be run on PC hardware (with GPU passthrough!!). This is all backed by a ZFS-powered NFS datastore (omniOS VM + nappit + onboard SAS2008 IT mode pci-passthrough). This started as just a...
  6. C

vdev layout for all SSD datastores (striped mirrors or RAIDZ2?)