Search results

1. C

Time To Upgrade Old Dual Xeon CPU E5-2670

And the hard drives. And now that I think about it, my switch is plugged into the UPS too but it's an unmanaged switch with negligible draw. If I stop most Dockers and I'm only running my pfsense VM which is on 4 core 4 gig RAM, the server is around 150w
  2. C

I can't say I know enough about error correction RAM to say it's important to me or not. I do have it now however. My current system has IPMI, but I never use it so not important. I have my current unit rack mounted which would be preferred, but not deal breaker. I don't care about noise, it...
  3. C

I've been using this system since about 2016: Dual Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz Supermicro X9DRi-LN4+/X9DR3-LN4+ , Version REV:1.20A 64 GiB DDR3 Multi-bit ECC It's worked quite well for my uses. Unraid OS running a couple of VMs, 10-20 dockers and some plugins. Problem is, which...
  4. C

Supermicro unRAID System From MrRackables

Yeah, completely agree. What a difference from the older desktop I built. Especially with something like unRAID that allows for dockers and VMs, having a system like this is great.
  5. C

I've thought of building my own rack. The more I hear about it like your post, the more I'm interested in doing so. To emphasize the purpose of this post, I think it's important to highlight what @MiniKnight said. In summary, your mileage may vary. That's why I like these guys. Customer...
  6. C

Below is my shameless plug for MrRackables. I've seen too many poor experiences people have had with online resellers that I thought I'd share my positive one. About 5 years ago I built my first unRAID system. At that time, I was primarily focused on having a system to safely store and serve...
  7. C

2x Xeon E5-2670 vs 4x Xeon E5645