putting together a cheap xeon video editing system

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

zhah

Apr 3, 2024
hi, i am very new to all this server cpu naunce, i currently have a ryzen 5 5600g cpu with 16gb of ram and an rtx 2060 12gb, my pc is weak for rendering videos quickly to get out for clients, low ram for getting multiple adobe apps running at the same time. i can just upgrade my ram and cpu to stay on a modern system, but i am looking at these cheap aliexpress bundles and cpus which will cost me as much as just a ram upgrade where i live.

e5 2690 v3 for 20$

x99 mobo for 37$

i hope someone here knows about editing software and old xeons to help me decide, the only issue i have now is that the cpu doesnt have integrated graphics to enable quicksync, which is also a problem with my ryzen system making my true ideal upgrade be a modern intel system since most old intel i cpus are low core count.
what should i go with then if not the e5 xeons? i can give my ryzen rig to my brother as he would benefit from it, while giving myself similar performance + better render times with the xeon, but i want to know if there's even better stuff out there for the same price.

T_Minus

Build. Break. Fix. Repeat
Feb 15, 2015
Do you have Adobe configured to offload to GPU \ doing it in batches via GPU not CPU, that's what I'd do. This wasn't default when I was looking into this years ago and you had to use an alternative config to do it.

You should compare RAM Bandwidth of the XEONS vs Ryzen, and take into account "MAX" Bandwidth may be DUAL XEON depending where you're reading the spec.

If you can offload to your NVIDIA GPU you'll get more performance than either CPU, and the 5900x or 5950x smokes those older Xeons in most workloads, so I would up the RAM, get a faster AMD for your platform, off-load to GPU and call it good :)

nexox

May 3, 2023