Recent content by Loto_Bak

1. L

[SOLD] Norco 4220/4224 Front Fan Bezel 3x120mm

Hmmm I recently decomisioned my 4224 but never had any issues cooling with the stock fan setup. It blows a lot of air even when slowed down for noise. Just ensure you close the vents on any trays you are not using.
  2. L

Long duration UPS without completely breaking the bank

I use a marine inverter/charger Magnum MS2812 but there is a smaller MS2012. It'll run continuous duty (2000w for the MS2012), has a 30A @ 120v input and a big charger (200+ Amp DC). I work in the marine industry so am familiar with them. I got mine used.
  3. L

SMART data with DS4486 and HGST NetApp branded drives

The trays require interposers. SATA disks supported only smartctl -a -d sat will pull smart data on a ds4486
  4. L

SAS Expansion - Single Server + External Array vs. Twin Servers, for small network.

I would go option A But don't bother with a expansion card... get a Netapp DS4246 off ebay. (Or a DS4486 for 48 disks) They're usually quite cheap and great hardware.
  5. L

NetApp 4486 for ~$280 shipped

I didn't pull PSU's out when testing, just ran them unplugged. All fans on them run regardless if they are powered directly or not. I would say noise was the same with 2 or 4 PSUs powered.
  6. L

Canada SOLD: GA-7PESH2 Desktop Workstation

Hmm. Tempted... I'm over in Nanaimo but have lots of freight accounts
  7. L

New Home Build Wiring Recommendations 2020 Edition

I rewired my low voltage during home during a renovation 1.5 years ago. Here are my recommendations and discoveries after the fact; Cat6 wiring: Use boxes of Cat6a. Cost difference to cat5e is negligible and support for video and 10g over cat6a is superior. Cat6a terminates to keystones...
  8. L

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)