Unraid or Other for first server

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

OptimusPrime

Apr 21, 2020
I am building my first server. Using WD Red Plus 10TB (not GB) drives. If my priorities are to have a multi-use machine and ensure I can take advantage of my 10Gbe network infrastructure, do you suggest Unraid, or should I consider other systems? I am a hobbyist, not a professional.

Last edited:
Reactions: TommyL

OptimusPrime

Apr 21, 2020
@JediAcolyte Yes. And thank you for discretely pointing out my typo via direct message so I could adjust the original post.

Oh, wait...you did not give me that opportunity. Okay then, I won’t fully adjust the original post.

That said, given you took the time to read my post, then provide a reply, would you have feedback to offer regarding my post in terms of TB vs GB?

Spartacus

May 27, 2019
Austin, TX
While he was a bit sassy you came back swinging yourself Optimus.

Perceived impoliteness of both parties aside, if you want to take advantage of a 10Gb network then unraid might not be the solution for you.
While Unraid can do 10Gb speeds, it can only achieve that with the cache, it's storage is basically at the speed of individual drives so the 10TB drives you noted about 150-200MB/s maximum for the array storage.

Freenas might be better suited for you if you're looking for performance (plus its free), freenas uses a more traditional raid setup achieving increase performance based off the number of drives you use.

If you can expand on your use case of "multi-use machine" and the hardware/number of drives you plan to have we could provide a more accurate OS recommendation might be best for your specific goal.

JediAcolyte

May 29, 2020
US
@OptimusPrime , I apologize, I wasn't intending to be snarky. I I've seen people doing retro builds with PATA drives as odd as that sounds.