Time To Upgrade Old Dual Xeon CPU E5-2670

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

cm.graz

Apr 6, 2017
I've been using this system since about 2016:

Dual Intel® Xeon® CPU E5-2670 0 @ 2.60GHz
Supermicro X9DRi-LN4+/X9DR3-LN4+ , Version REV:1.20A
64 GiB DDR3 Multi-bit ECC

It's worked quite well for my uses. Unraid OS running a couple of VMs, 10-20 dockers and some plugins.

Problem is, which I've ignored for the longest time. This thing SUCKS electricity. Depending on usage it lives 24/7 in the 250-350 watt range.

If I don't need something much more powerful, but simply looking for something more efficient, where would be a good place to start?

nexox

May 3, 2023
There are a lot of options, but to help narrow it down, tell us how important ECC, IPMI, rack mount form factor, and noise are, plus describe the storage you have or intend to use in the future.

cm.graz

Apr 6, 2017
  • I can't say I know enough about error correction RAM to say it's important to me or not. I do have it now however.
  • My current system has IPMI, but I never use it so not important.
  • I have my current unit rack mounted which would be preferred, but not deal breaker.
  • I don't care about noise, it goes in my utility/server room.
  • Current setup is a 12 bay system which is likely adequate as I can upgrade disk size rather than disk bays.

I can see spending $1,000-$1,500 which I'm assuming would be able to put something quite a bit better together than what I have now.

And the last question would be is there any reasonable way to repurpose the old system, or if I'm looking to avoid the power sucking tendencies of the older dual xeons, then I'm out of luck?

nexox

May 3, 2023