Supermicro M12SWA-TF with RTX-3080 GPU

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

freemarket

Nov 29, 2015
Florida
Hi,
Does anyone have any luck with the following components:
- Supermicro M12SWA-TF
- Supermicro chassis SC743-1000-SQ
- Zotac RTX-3080 10Gb (x2)
- 1000W PS
This was a complete build purchased last week from Newegg with a Supermicro case and 128Gb RAM and two drives. Issue is that machine doesn’t post with either GPU in either of the 4 possible PCI-E x16 slots.
It works fine without the GPUs and I’ve had no problem loading alma Linux 8.5 off a usb stick. I’ve spent a day emailing Supermicro support and had a zoom to conclude GPUs are bad. Tried same GPUs in my old Supermicro SYS7038A-i and no luck either. That one has a Nvidia P4000 in it.
I have nearly 10 years experience with Supermicro and double that with other headless servers, Sun, Tyan so know that if the GPU has an issue I can still shell into server or use IPMI. Neither work here so inability to post impedes O/S booting. Anyone get this GPU working on this mobo?

Thanks,
Henry

NablaSquaredG

Layer 1 Magician
Aug 17, 2020
Do you have another non-Supermicro (e.g. Asus Consumer) system to confirm that the GPU is not faulty?

freemarket

Nov 29, 2015
Florida
So, to complete the mystery, both Supermicro and Zotac concluded that the GPUs were defective, issued me an RMA and I am waiting for replacements, currently running on my old GPU.

JShort

Jun 11, 2016
Henry,

I'm having good luck with a similar build:
- Supermicro M12SWA-TF
- Supermicro chassis SC743 (SQ of some sort)
- Upgraded from 2x SQ mid-case fans (Silent, but not enough to cool a single 3-fan RTX 3090) to 4x Supermicro Fan-0074L4 fans