ROMED8-2T or MBDH12SSL for Truenas scale epyc build in supermicro 826 case?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

DrGoat

Mar 16, 2022
TL;DR: What's the best Epyc motherboard to use with a Supermicro BPN-SAS3-826EL1 backplane (12 sata drives) and why?

With the release of Truenas scale, I plan to build a new server for it, and use my existing Truenas core one (an old Atom based SUPERMICRO MBD-A1SAi-2750F-O) for a backup. This is for 'home' use (homelab).

I bought a used Supermicro 2U case with 12 hot swap bays (826BE1C-R900LPB). It has a SAS3 backplane (BPN-SAS3-826EL1) with 4 mini SAS ports.

I've settled on an Epyc Rome/Milan CPU, but I'm having trouble settling on the motherboard due to my inexperience with server builds in general and SAS in particular - this is my first time building in a computer with a hot-swap backplane.
My primary requirements for the board are to be able to "feed" the case SAS backplane, and have 10Gb+ networking capability, while providing plenty of expandability (e.g. graphics card for plex transcoding, addition cards for Nvme drives). I'd prefer for the functionality of the motherboard overlap my wants/needs without buying adapter cards and extra cables (but I'm not averse to getting them if that's a better solution - the boards have plenty of PCI slots).

The first thing that hung me up: how many mini SAS HD connectors should I connect to the backplane for optimal performance?
Each mini SAS seems good for 4 drives, and the mobos or HBA cards seem to mostly do 2 mini SAS (8 drives). Since there are 12 drive bays I thought I needed 3 mini SAS to support all 12.
But after more research, I think the backplane has an "expander" that allows the bandwidth to be shared among all the drives? So maybe 2 mini SAS is adequate? I plan on using at least 8 hard drives (so no more than 4 SATA SSDs).

Additional points of confusion for me: