Proxmox newbie needs help

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

epicurean

Sep 29, 2014
I am a complete Proxmox newbie.
Just installed proxmox a few days and ago and was slowly setting it up with the intention to move my vmware windows 10 VM in from an esxi 6.0 server.
Proxmox installation is in a raid 1 pair intel 3610 SSDs, whilst I created a raid 1 samsung 960 SSDs
I managed to bring over 1 windows 10 vm , converted it and was about to try to enable GPU and USB passthrough.

I made some changes to the bios in this X99 China motherboard (Wovibo X99)-, to enable IOMMU(still dunno where to do so) and now I getting these errors during boot up in proxmox:

"ACPI Bios Error (bug) could not resolve symbol [\_sb.PCIO.sat1.spt1._gtf.dssp].......
No root device specified. Boot arguments must include a root= parameter"
I get a a busybox prompt at the end of it
I set the bios back to default settings and still no difference.

I cannot access the proxmox webpage. How do I fix this? do I have to redo the setup all over again?
Any help

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada
Could you have a boot/ disk ordering issue after tinkering in the BIOS? Try setting up again and use the wwn to set up your disks by ID instead :)

epicurean

Sep 29, 2014
Thank you.
I am indeed setting up all over again.
What do you mean by set up disk by ID ? how do I do that?

pricklypunter

Nov 10, 2015
Canada
Find your disks by specifying /dev/disk/by-id/"your wwn or serial" when you set up your storage initially. Using /dev/sda works fine, up until the disk ordering gets jiggled around for some reason, then suddenly what was once /dev/sda becomes /dev/sdc etc. Suddenly disks can't be found after a reboot. Using the disk wwn or serial number prevents that from happening, no matter how many times the disk ordering gets jiggled around by changes elsewhere in the hardware, your disks are always found :)