I need an infiniband cable and I'm lost

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Oni.kage

Nov 8, 2013
Boston, MA
I just ordered two ConnectX-2 cards MHQH19B-XTR with the intention of doing a point-to-point connection from my NAS (Ubuntu/ZFS) to my Windows desktop. However, I have no idea what kind of cable I should buy or how much I should spend on it. Could I have some help picking one out?

I need a cable that's 25-30 feet long (8-10 meters).
Since I'm doing point-to-point I'll need dual QSFP connectors?
Fiber or copper? I really need some advice here. Fiber is expensive, but I might be willing to do it if the latency will be that much better.
Does the cable have to be Mellanox brand, or will something like this be fine?

I've never worked with infiniband before. I know the X-2s are capable of 40gbps, but I don't think I can utilize that speed using IPoIB? How will my choice in cable affect latency/max bandwidth? What is the best bang-for-buck for my needs?

Appreciate the help.

dba

Feb 20, 2012
San Francisco Bay Area, California, USA
You need a cable that's QSFP on both ends and rated to handle QDR Infiniband at 40Gbits/s. On eBay, you might find one for $30 to $100 depending on your luck. Do an eBay search for "QSFP cable" and sort by cost. In your hunting, give preference to Mellanox cables, if only because they are a known entity. Here's an example of a 10 meter Mellanox active copper cable from a US vendor at a price that is very reasonable - $72 including shipping:

Mellanox MCC4R28C 010 33 Feet Infiniband Cable 1 x QSFP Connector | eBay

With some patience you may even find one for less. You sometimes see extremely long $1,000 fiber cables going for $30.