H11SSL-NC: IPMI Firmware update question

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

cgsmith

Sep 22, 2022
I noticed that there was a new BIOS and BMC firmware available so I figured I'd get to updating. On the BMC download page there's a pretty ominous "Important Note":

Please note that IPMI firmware version v1.52.21 or newer is with the key signed. Once you upgrade to this firmware version, the device cannot rollback to the previous un-signed IPMI firmware.

I'm pretty new to SM so I'm not exactly sure what this is warning me of (I purchased the board from ebay and the BMC was already activated). Is this going to break anything or require me to re-enter the License Key?

Thanks!

Hmmm. Based on what I read here, I think they're just saying that I wouldn't be able to downgrade to a previous unsigned version; the description was a little easier for me to comprehend.

Last edited:

RolloZ170

Apr 24, 2016
it is for platform security reasons.
for some BIOS this can be happen too. if you need older BIOS after update, you are out (or use soldering iron)

VMman

Jun 26, 2013
I noticed that there was a new BIOS and BMC firmware available so I figured I'd get to updating. On the BMC download page there's a pretty ominous "Important Note":

Please note that IPMI firmware version v1.52.21 or newer is with the key signed. Once you upgrade to this firmware version, the device cannot rollback to the previous un-signed IPMI firmware.

I'm pretty new to SM so I'm not exactly sure what this is warning me of (I purchased the board from ebay and the BMC was already activated). Is this going to break anything or require me to re-enter the License Key?

Thanks!

Hmmm. Based on what I read here, I think they're just saying that I wouldn't be able to downgrade to a previous unsigned version; the description was a little easier for me to comprehend.