Directory structure for NFS shares + MergeRFS

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

IamSpartacus

Mar 14, 2016
I'm setting up a media server on Ubuntu Server 16.04. I want to mount NFS shares from two "remote" storage arrays (shares are identical on both arrays, ie. Movies, Television, etc.) and use MergeRFS to merge both sets of mounted NFS shares together to be used by all my media dockers.

I'm looking for confirmation if I'm doing this correctly as I'm very new to both Linux and MergeRFS specifically. I've setup the following NFS mounts on the server:

/mnt/nfs/movies/array01_movies
/mnt/nfs/movies/array02_movies
/mnt/nfs/tv/array01_tv
/mnt/nfs/tv/array02_tv
/mnt/nfs/music/array01_music
/mnt/nfs/music/array02_music

From what I've read on @rubylaser's blog, I'd then use the following lines to create 3 pools for the sets of mounts:

/mnt/nfs/movies/* /movies fuse.mergerfs category.create=eplfs,defaults,allow_other,minfreespace=20G,fsname=mergerfsPool 0 00
/mnt/nfs/tv/* /tv fuse.mergerfs category.create=eplfs,defaults,allow_other,minfreespace=20G,fsname=mergerfsPool 0 00
/mnt/nfs/music/* /music fuse.mergerfs category.create=eplfs,defaults,allow_other,minfreespace=20G,fsname=mergerfsPool 0 00

This would give me directories of /movies, /tv, and /music to present to my dockers. Am I missing something here? Is there a better way of doing this that I'm overlooking?

rubylaser

Jan 4, 2013
Michigan, USA
The first thing I would do is make sure that all of your permissions are good and consistent across the NFS mounts so that the entire folder structure shows up on the mergerfs end. Your NFS mounts look fine. I would change your /etc/fstab for the mounts a little bit though in regards to the fsnames (they should be different for each pool. Also, I don't like creating multiple mountpoints off root , so I would create a directory where all of these pools can co-exist.

Code: