CPU & Mobo for NAS and small Gaming Servers

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

S7ewie

Jun 1, 2023
Hi all, I’m a complete newbie to home servers but I’ve been building and upgrading my own gaming pc for the past 14 years or so and I also have a small 2 bay Synology NAS.

I want to build a home server, partly because it looks like a really cool project but also because I want to expand my NAS and also host a few small game servers. Video transcoding is not currently a major priority but I don’t want to write it off.

I took to reddit to ask for some advice but didn’t get much response, so fingers crossed this community is more active haha.

I’m currently thinking of a 3U server chassis (though I’ve yet to find one I really like), with an ATX or Micro ATX motherboard. I’m leaning towards something like the i5-10400 for CPU but looking for advice and suggestions.

Not sure what motherboard to go with. Ill probably start with around 4 hard drives but will likely expand to 8+ in the future so either needs to have plenty of sata ports or pcie for expansion.

I don’t really have a budget but I want to be cost effective, as in, I don’t want to spend 5 times more than I need to for something that will achieve my goals. Ultimately I want something quiet and efficient.

Any advice or recommendations would be massively appreciate.

i386

Mar 18, 2016
Germany
I wouldn't look at "consumer" cpus for nas/server: they often don't have support for ecc, limited io in terms of pcie lanes and "low" memory support.
my preference would be a xeon or epyc cpu (or for a simple fileserver also embeded options like xeon-d/atom).

For the storage I would recommend you to learn about sas hbas/raid controllers and what they can do :D