Can you use pfSense as a VM and link it to a vSwitch with no Physical NIC?

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Steve-o

Jan 5, 2022
Hello all, I am not an expert by any means I just like to play around in my home lab. I just bought a new server for Christmas, but I been beating my head on the table for a couple of days now trying to get this working and I don't think I can do what I want to do. Long story short I have 3 ESXi host's and each one has a RJ-45 10GB dual card in it. and I am trying to link them all together as well as a TrueNAS VM without a 10GB switch. The 10GB link will only be for ESXi stuff. FYI, I do have vCenter running as a VM.

What I thought I could do is setup pfSense VM on my main server (ESXi-03) that will also running TrueNAS then passthrough the dual NIC card to pfSense as well as a vNIC then make a vSwitch with no physical NIC and link the vNIC to it. The Dual NIC card would be connected to other 2 ESXi servers (ESXi-01 & 02). Then in pfSense make a bridge between all 3 NICs. After doing this my hopes were short lived. Only ESXi-01 & 02 could see each other and as well as pfSense but I could not see ESXi-03 or the TrueNAS VM. But the TrueNAS VM and ESXi-03 could see each other but nothing else. It seems like the vSwitch is not really working as a switch maybe it's not doing broadcast to the vNIC in pfSense. See attached diagram on how my network is laid out and what I was trying to do. I know I should just by a switch but since I only have 10GB RJ-45 card the RJ-45 switches are pretty pricey for me right now. If I knew better, I would have got all SFP+ cards because though switches are much cheaper.

If you guys have any suggestions, please let me know.

Thanks

If you guys were curious this is my setup
ESXi-01:
PowerEdge T630
2x CPU E5-2620 v3
96GB Ram
1TB M.2 970 EVO
4x 4TB SAS HGST running RAID-5

ESXi-02:
PowerEdge T430