Search results

1. MacLemon

[Feedback sought] Enthusiastic NAS build [4.5y usage update 2019-12]

Inevitable double post. The mainboard has returned from SUPERMICRO RMA after almost four weeks. They did replace it without me having to pay anything but shipping the defective board to them. They've kept the original CPU heat sink and fan and moved them to the replacement mainboard. The four...
  2. MacLemon

I can only second that. Being a noob here myself I was welcomed very friendly and I received excellent help from people here. Keep in mind that I'm not really active here, I literally only posted in this very thread since I joined. :-P I never thought about it. I consider them pretty “boring”...
  3. MacLemon

RMAs can be requested worldwide :), which is exactly what I did. If SuperMicro does replace/repair the board, I'm happy with that. If they don't, I'm in the market for a new server motherboard and CPU, preferably with more SATA onboard channels and SFP+ options. I'll keep you updated on...
  4. MacLemon

How about a November 2019 lifecycle update of that box? Why you ask? Well, it just died. With “it died” I mean, that it does not boot anymore. My current suspicion is that the Atom C2758 CPU or the motherboard died because it won't even POST anymore. It started with the box unexpectedly...
  5. MacLemon

The point of me wishing I could temporarily do a mirror was that this would allow full migration without downtime. Would have been nice, but in this very case, not necessary. Yes, it's perfectly possible to use zfs send and recv locally. It's as simple as zsf send sourcevolume/sourcedataset |...
  6. MacLemon

There is enough space in the enclosure to accomodate for 8 additional LFF HDs. I also do have a “spare” controller, which I'd need to flash to IT-Mode first though. It will do for the migration. (Still waiting for the last two HDs to arrive, since that project got held up a little by more...
  7. MacLemon