Search results

1. P

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

I never got to properly say thank you for this answer! Here are some follow-up questions if I were to stack 3x 6450 switches: 1) Can one of the stacking links be aggregated while the others are not? 2) If I stack in a non-aggregated ring config, will that increase the overall bandwidth capacity...
  2. P

Setting up a 10gig interbuilding network at home

How about FreeBSD? The router is running pfsense. Found conflicting info when I tried to look around for an answer. I'am quite sure that the x550 and x710 based cards support multi-gig speeds while x520 and x540 does not. However, my ISP only provides 1gig, so anything else is just to...
  3. P

Do you have a good NIC to recommend? I am very new to all SFP stuff, but from what I gather compatibility between brands and modules can be a PITA. I was looking at the intel NICs due to stable drivers, but they seems to be quite picky... tbh I am at a loss atm...
  4. P

Cool! I will think about it, but I prefer to have my router/firewall as a standalone box. Several reasons. 1) I have the suff, and it is much cheaper to reuse what I already have, compared to get new nics, DACs etc. (Getting a X10SDV-8C or similar with SFP+ instead is not cheap) 2) Because...
  5. P

Is there a particular reason for this? Could I not just keep the WAN traffic on an isolated VLAN through the switches ending in on my "WAN" interface on the pfsense box, pfsense doing pfsense things and then forward the traffic to the "LAN"-side interface? I understand this adds a little bit of...
  6. P

Brocade ICX Series (cheap & powerful 10gbE/40gbE switching)

I have been skimming through this thread 400+pages, but thus far the answer has eluded me... (Sorry if this has been brought up before...) On a pair of 6450-24, can I use 2x of the 10gig links as stacking and LAG at the same time for a 20 gig connection, or is stacking limited to only one port...
  7. P