Hypothetical first server, looking for feedback

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

Filip Orrling

Aug 6, 2015
Hi,
I'm new to the whole server building game, and I'm not looking to build something fancy. I want a low power but capable Plex media server and a Time Machine backup station. I would be very happy if someone could give me some feedback on this

Build’s Name:
Tetrix v1
Operating System/ Storage Platform: FreeNAS or Ubuntu
CPU: Intel i3-4130T
Motherboard: ASRock E3C226D2I
Chassis: Fractal Design Node 304
Drives: 2 x WD Red 4 TB (mirrored)
3- x WD Red 3 TB (RaidZ)
RAM: 2 x Kingston DDR3 1600MHz 8Gb ECC
Add-in Cards: -
Power Supply:
be quiet! PSU TFX Power 2 300W Gold
Other Bits: USB stick for FreeNAS boot

Usage Profile: On the mirrored drives: Time Machine backup for three computers, plus backup of photos etc
On the RaidZ: Movies, music, photos

My main concern are the hard drive setup. I've just started to read about this stuff and I'm totally lost in the jungle of recommendations of how to set up Raids etc. I want to make sure that my other computers are safely backed up, and that's what the mirror is for. For my movies and music I just want more space with acceptable safety. Does this seem sound?

Also, leaning more towards FreeNas as it seems more accessible than Ubuntu. I've never tried either, but all the instructions about "~Sudo add-apt" etc just loses me after a while. Is there a clear reason why I should choose one or the other?

Any and all tips are welcome. As stated in the beginning, I'm totally green at this so all help is appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

5teve

Jan 23, 2015
Perth, Australia
Regarding freenas.. look at having 2 boot devices (usb sticks) as I have previously had sticks fail, and freenas now supports mirroring of usb drives for boot devices as standard (IIRC as part of the install process, but can be done via the GUI)