Recent content by VR Bitman

1. VR Bitman

Help me build a VMware home lab

Performance seems to be good. I say "seems" because I am unable to test the Brocade BR-1020 CNA with the Mikrotik switch. Apparently the BR-1020 does not support Mikrotik transceivers and as soon as I connect one the event logs get populated with "unsupported SFP module" messages. At the moment...
  2. VR Bitman

ESXi 5.5 boot issues with an IBM x3650 M2 2U server

flynnibus, my post wasn't very detailed, but I did mention all of my steps. Again, I had disabled legacy video support in the BIOS setup menu. This will prevent the error you mentioned, which is the exact same error I mentioned in my first post.
  3. VR Bitman

Well, I finally got my NAS system up and running. I'm using Windows Server 2012 R2 as operating system and the components I have mentioned above. This is how the array looks like: These are the results of my initial tests: I'm no storage expert, but the numbers seem OK to me. As I...
  4. VR Bitman

I'm sorry, I didn't have time to post all the details. It was a long afternoon. I'll write a detailed post on my blog soon. But yes, I had to update the firmware before ESXi 5.5 would boot off USB. Note that IBM isn't officially supporting ESXi 5.5 on older servers; it seems to work fine but...
  5. VR Bitman

After some bad luck with the Q1900M motherboard, I have decided to switch to another model instead of asking for a replacement Q1900M. I went with the ASRock H81M. Among other advantages, this model requires less modifications / adapters as it has two x16 (mechanical) slots. Given that the CPU...
  6. VR Bitman

Which consumer motherboards can the IBM M5014 be paired with?

I have switched to an ASRock H81M motherboard. Also, I will not be posting in this thread anymore. I will continue here: https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/help-me-build-a-vmware-home-lab.3828/page-3
  7. VR Bitman