Taking the ESXi --> Hyper-V plunge...few questions

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

JimPhreak

Oct 10, 2013
So I've decided to give Hyper-V a real show on my new home VM server. I haven't given up on ESXi yet but with all the trouble it's giving me on my new "cutting edge hardware," I think it's smart to at least give Hyper-V a shot and see how well it works on the same hardware. And given the fact that I already know my two 10gig NICs work in Windows, that's one leg up.

While I'm anxious to give Hyper-V a shot, I'm completely new to it. I'm a Windows admin so I'm familiar with Windows server and guest OS's but I've never messed with Hyper-V. I've worked with VMware since 5.0 was released. Therefore I have a few questions/concerns right off the bat.

1) Hyper-V Server Core, Full Hyper-V Server, or Full Server 2012 R2?

Being this is my first run at Hyper-V I'm unsure which solution is best for me. In theory it sounds like Hyper-V server core is the way to go for the less overhead and fewer patches needed. Seems like it's the closest to a "bare-metal" hypervisor of all the 3 Windows options.

However I'm concerned about my ability to configure and manage it being a total noob in the regard. For example how would I even go about installing drivers (such as my NIC drivers), etc.? How easily is this managed without a domain (my plan is to run a Server 2012 R2 DC as a guest VM so I'd imagine that can't manage the host hypervisor it's a part of)?

Also, are there any recommended remote administration tools for managing Hyper-V from a Windows PC as opposed to the standard Windows 8 RAT?

2) How does hardware passthrough work in Hyper-V?