Need help ASUS KRPA-U16 + AMD Epyc 7D12 - Weird Memory issues

Notice: Page may contain affiliate links for which we may earn a small commission through services like Amazon Affiliates or Skimlinks.

LordCharas

Aug 8, 2023
Hey guys new member and first time poster so please let me know if this is not the correct section to start this thread. I am currently trying to put together a server for homelab use.
I have built computers for years but it is my first time using actual server grade hardware so I am hoping it is some BIOS setting and not defective hardware.

Build’s Name: N/A
Operating System/ Storage Platform: Unraid or TrueNAS - not there yet.
CPU: AMD EPYC 7d12 32c/64t
Motherboard: ASUS KRPA-U16
Chassis: N/A
Drives: N/A
RAM: Trying various configurations of 1x8 - 8x8 of Samsung 2666mghz DDR4
Add-in Cards: GT720 just for HDMI video out for now
Power Supply: 550w Bronze rated silverstone (temporary for now)
Other Bits:
N/A

I am going based off the manual found here from ASUS section 2.4.2 - https://dlsvr04.asus.com.cn/pub/ASUS/mb/SocketSP3(4094)/KRPA-U16/Manual/E15821_KRPA-U16_UM_WEB.pdf

First problem, the POST screen and BIOS are reporting different amounts of memory installed I wanted to go with the 8x8. The POST screen read 32gb and threw me 4 Dimm timing errors (these slots are for the 2nd set of 4 modules for the 8 dimm config) and it showed 57gb in BIOS - Refer to pictures.

First thought was that one of the memory modules were bad so I began testing with both sets of 4 individually. Individually both sets of 4 showed no POST errors and reported 32gb but still was showing 57gb in the BIOS. I had 2 extra identical modules I mixed them around with the same exact results so I ruled out one of the memory sticks being defective.

Other Trouble shooting I did: Update BIOS, Clear CMOS, Memory check/tests on boot, Disable all RAS settings in BIOS - All still left me in the same place.