Zyxel GS1900 VLAN isolation

Discussion in 'Networking' started by aag, May 12, 2018.

1. aag

aag New Member

I have gotten fiber internet recently, and I was wondering whether I can get rid of the ISP's box and attach directly my fiber to the switch. Is it possible to isolate one of the ports of the Zyxel GS1900-24 to obtain the topology depicted here? The idea is to dedicate a fiber and a cable port to the "DMZ", and attach the rest to the pfSense gateway. However, I do not know whether this is at all possible, and I have zero experience with VLANs.
    zyxel-switch.png

Last edited: May 12, 2018
  2. maze

maze Active Member

Yes. Do a WAN vlan, put that at untagged/pvid on the fiber port, then same on the port to your pfsense

3. fohdeesha

fohdeesha Kaini Industries

If you're talking about using the fiber coming directly from your ISP, I sincerely doubt this is going to work for several reasons

Depending on where you live it's most likely a GPON provider and not active ethernet to each home, in which case you'll need GPON optics, and a switch/router with a port intended for GPON optics. You'll need to match the wavelength their GPON equipment is using, the wavelength density (eg how many individual customer wavelengths on one pair of fiber), - these are split up into "classes" If I remember right, eg class B+ gpon optics are 1480-1500nm transmit, 1260-1360nm receive

GPON also does stuff like use time slots allocated by the OLT (headend) to dictate when the client (you) can transmit, TDMA for broadcast traffic etc, your device would need to understand all this (and if it's not a device intended for GPON use, it won't). the TLDR is GPON is not ethernet. It would be the equivalent of sticking fibre channel optics in your ethernet switch and hoping it can talk to fibre channel equipment